Our Conductors and Artistic Staff

Meet our incredible artistic faculty.


Dr. James O. Welsch

Music Director
Tacoma Youth Symphony

Joe Dyvig

Tacoma Junior Youth Symphony

Dr. Anna Jensen

Tacoma String Philharmonic

John M. Wetherington

Tacoma Wind Philharmonic

Karen Helseth

Tacoma String Symphony

Katherine Sartori

Prelude Strings

Ensemble Directors

Sarah Viens

Tacoma Youth Brass Ensemble

Jazz Studies

Jeff Chang

Summer Jazz Orchestra

Music Theory and Musicology

Dr. James O. Welsch

Music Theory and Composition

Dr. Loma Cobbs

Music Theory and Musicology


Help Us Continue Transforming Lives

Whether you donate, volunteer, or sponsor, your contribution will help us continue to provide the highest quality music education and preserve a rich cultural experience.

Skip to content